Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Grinnell-Newburg CSD

Grinnell-Newburg High School

Working...

Ajax Loading Image

 

GHS Daily Announcements

GHS Announcements

Friday, April 21, 2017

 

 

MISC

Iron Chef Finals were held this morning. Required ingredients included the unlikely combination of sirloin steak, pickle juice, black olives, dried figs and potatoes. Judges, including Mr. Seney, Mr. and Mrs. Plagge, Ms. Allen, Mr. Laidig, Ms. Hood and Chris Varney from KGRN were blown away by the awesome food prepared! First place honors for the year went to Elaina Maltas and Mrs. Skouson with a steak stuffed with an olive and fig tapenade served with pan fried potatoes and figs topped with a balsamic reduction. Congratulations to all competitors and thank you to our great judges! This was the last Iron Chef of the year, but we look forward to a great 17-18 season starting in September!

 

Hey... did you go on the Fine Arts Trip to NYC? Please stop by Room #17 to grab your group photos from Mrs. Hansen sometime today! 

 

Come help move the band shell after school today! 3:30 in the auditorium, for about an hour!

 

Prom tickets will be available for purchase TODAY during your lunch hour in front of the cafeteria.  Tickets are $10.00 each.  Sign up your date at the time you purchase tickets.  You will also be able to purchase the Grinnell College dinner tickets for $20.00 at that time, too!

 

Prom formal photos will be Saturday 7 pm until 10:30 pm in the high school media center.  Picture order forms can be printed online: http://coryhallphoto.com/Prom-order2017-B.pdf or are in the GHS office. For questions, contact Cory Hall Photography downtown, 641-236-3741.

 

2017 GHS Color Guard Information:  The Grinnell High School Marching Band will be holding tryouts for the 2017 Color Guard.  Practices for the tryouts will be held before school Tuesday, April 25th through Friday, April 28th.  Tryouts will be held on Saturday, April 29th at 8:00 a.m.  Please email Mr. Dressler @ levi.dressler@grinnell-k12.org to let him know of your intent to audition.  Please meet in the Grinnell High School Band Room at 6:50 a.m. starting April 25th for the practice sessions.  All current 9th through 11th grade students are eligible to audition.  Anyone needing more information about the 2017 Color Guard is asked to see or email Mr. Dressler for more information.

 

Senior Skip Day is NOT a sanctioned event and students who miss school without being called out will have unexcused absences.

 

The Student Council is now accepting applications for the 2017-2018 Student Council. Please fill out this form before Friday, April 21st. Contact Reanna Campbell if you have trouble viewing the form.  https://docs.google.com/a/grinnell-k12.org/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfOH-b-Tl3OrK82iYuTv_1I39VqGBLzHU4x2xPNHoMfMbr7NA/viewform?usp=sf_link. Today is the last day to apply for Student Council! If you haven't filled out an application please do so before the end of school today!!

                                    

ATHLETICS

~ Girls Golf - 1:00 @ Mt. Pleasant Golf & Country Club in Pella. Suburban leaves at 10:00. Please dismiss Team at 9:40

~ Boys Golf - 4:15 @ Willow Creek Golf Course in Pella. Suburban leaves at 2:15. Dismiss Team at 2:00.

~ Girls Tennis - 4:15 @ Home

~ Girls Soccer - 4:45 @ Adel. Bus leaves at 2:45. Dismiss Team at 2:30

 

SATURDAY:

​~ Boys Tennis @ Pella HS​

 

The boys tennis team won 6-5 last night against Indianola.  The JV lost 13-5.

 

The Varsity Girls Tennis team lost at Indianola Thursday 5-6.  Junior Varsity Girl Tennis defeated Indianola 6-5.

 

Boys golf results: Osky 168, Pella 185, Grinnell 199. Congrats to Lucas Scherf for earning medalist runner-up honors with a 38.

 

Congrats to the Girls T&F team on their 1st place finish at the STC Invite last night, scoring 154 points! Top Finishers for the Tigers were:

1st place:

High Jump - Kylee Neighbors - 5'4 (New Meet Record)

Long Jump - Sienna Durr - 16'10.5 (New Meet Record)

3000 - Nola Conner - 11:39.25  (New Meet Record)

Shuttle Hurdle - Trystin Stille, Maddison Jones, Kylee Neighbors, Sienna Durr

100 Hurdles - Sienna Durr - 15.73 (New Meet Record)

4x2 - Maddie Wilkins, Kamryn Juni, Madison Luther, Addyson Petig

2nd place:

3000 - Gracee Kivett

1500 - Nola Conner

4x4 - Kyran Hungerfrod, Anjali Jones, Kamryn Juni, Addyson Petig

3rd place:

400 - Rebecka Reed

800 - Anjali Jones

1500 - Gracee Kivett

400 Hurdles - Trystin Stille

4x1 - Maddie Wilkins, Kamryn Juni, Addyson Petig, Sienna Durr

Sprint Med - Maddie Wilkins, Lexi Hart, Madison Luther, Addyson Petig

Distance Med - Trystin Stille, Kylee Neighbors, Kyra Hungerford, Anjali Jones

High Jump - Kamryn Juni

Long Jump - Danielle Moore

 

Congrats to the Boys T&F team on their 3rd place finish at the Eddyville Relays last night! 

Top finishers for the Tigers were: 

1st place:

400 - Sam Allen 

Sprint Med - Luke Roudabush, Tanner Strand, Jake Simon, Sam Allen 

2nd place:

200 - Jake Simon 

3200 - Trent O'Halloran (Class A)

4x1 - Luke Roudabush, Tanner Strand, Jake Simon, Sam Allen (Class A)

3rd place:

100 - Tanner Strand 

800 - Landon Steffen

3200 - Tommy Clower (Class A)

1600 - Adam Gruman (Class B)

3200 - Tony Villalobos (Class B)

4x1 - Jarret Lender, Bryson Cline, Warren Ware, Isaac Bryant (Class B)

4x4 - Brett Gibson, Landon Steffen, Adam Gruman, Tony Villalobos (Class B)

 

Get your teams together, and try not to get hit...FCA is putting on another dodgeball tournament on May 10th in the Kriegel Gym starting at 7:00 P.M.!!!  If you are interested in competing in the tournament your team will need exactly six people, and $3.00 from all six players on the team must be turned into JP Dugas.  If you have any questions about the tournament please email JP at: dugasjea@grinnell-k12.org.

 

COUNSELING OFFICE

​The Horatio Alger National Career and Technical Scholarship Program is now accepting applicants who demonstrate financial need, and are enrolling in a career or technical degree program for the Fall of 2017. Apply online at application.horatioalger.org.  Priority deadline is June 15, 2017.

 

CLUBS/ACTIVITIES

Did you know that 3 out of 2 people have trouble with fractions? Whether or not you're one of those people, come to Math Club this week to learn how to use the esoteric programming  language FracTran! We meet Mondays after school in Mr. Baker's room. Contact Molly Skouson at skousonm@grinnell.edu for more information.

 

The Outdoor Adventure Program is sponsoring a zip line / camping / climbing weekend on April 28-30.  Cost is only $10.00.  If you are interested, please stop by Ms. Meyer’s room to sign up and pick up necessary forms.  We will leave Friday, April 28th at 5:00 pm and return Sunday afternoon by 4:00 pm.  The zip line adventure is a two-hour tour while we also will explore Backbone State park by hiking, climbing and caving.  Any questions, please contact Ms. Meyer.  Deadline is Wednesday, April 26th and there is only room for 15 participants.

 

 

 

 

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Monday, April 17, 2017

Friday, April 14, 2017

Thursday, April 13, 2017

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Friday, April 7, 2017

Thursday, April 6, 2017

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Monday, April 3, 2017

Friday, March 24, 2017

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Monday, March 20, 2017

Friday, March 17, 2017

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

After Prom letter

Monday, March 13, 2017

Friday, March 10, 2017

No Announcements 3/9/17

Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Friday, March 3, 2017

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Monday, February 27, 2017

Friday, February 24, 2017

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Basketball poster

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Girls Basketball Order Form

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Monday, February 20, 2017

Friday, February 17, 2017

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Art Show Flyer

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

No Announcements Feb. 14

Monday, February 13, 2017

Friday, February 10, 2017

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Tuesday, February 7, 2017