Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Grinnell-Newburg CSD

Grinnell-Newburg Middle School

Working...

Ajax Loading Image

 

 

Grinnell Middle School Announcements
Friday, May 26, 2017 - Day 3

Virtual Backpack - Upcoming Events
The Grinnell-Newburg Community School District is participating in the Summer Food Service Program. Meals will be provided to all children 1-18 without charge.   Please find the details contained in the attached link and flyer.

The Grinnell Tigers Girls Basketball Summer Camp will be held June 12-16.  It will be offered to grades 4-6, from 8:00-9:30am.  If you need a form it has been attached, and is also available on Virtual Backpack.  The deadl
ine for registration and payment is June 2nd.

Are you interested in using data to explore social issues? Do you want to get better at using your computer? Join Grinnell College students from July 24th to the 28th for a week of fun and learning. Come investigate issues such as the best times to visit the pool and the impact of weather changes on crop yields. For more information visit https://www.grinnell.edu/code-camp.


Attendance for Thursday was 97%.

The FCA will also be hosting an end of the year bash on June 1st from 12:00 - 3:00 at the Ahrens Park Shelter House #1.

Today is our last Drama Club Meeting of the school year. We are planning on playing some of your favorite games, planning for next year, and inducting some new Junior Thespians! As always, if you don't come for the drama, come for the snacks! 

Any 8th grade girls going out for volleyball this fall at the high school, please meet in Mrs. Hulsing’s room during your 5B Tiger Time.

If there are any girls or boys interested in participating in cross country this fall, please make a quick stop in the office sometime today to sign up.

GATES Announcements:
TODAY the 8th grade GATES students will be sharing their Passion Platform Projects.  The 8th graders will eat during 5A, with their Tiger Time during 5B.  The 8th graders will then rotate through the student presentations during  6th period.  

GMS End of the Year Computer Check-In:  
Parents please prepare your students for Tuesday, May 30th to check in their school issued computers.  They will turn in their bag, laptop, and all pieces to their chargers.  Students will go to their grade level language arts teacher that day to turn these items it.  Thank you in advance for discussing and preparing your students for this day!!

GMS STUDENT MEDICATIONS - If your child has a medication at the school, please remember to pick up your child's over the counter or prescription medication by the last day of school.  

LOST & FOUND - Parents there will be items on display next week in our front entrance that have not been claimed.  Please remind your student to check for any items that may belong to them.  Monday, June 5th will be the last day to pick up any lost items.

NEXT WEEK - Middle School Calendar Events
Wednesday, May 31st - GMS Celebration Assembly (*** NEW UPDATE**** 2 hour early dismissal schedule)
Thursday, June 1st - GMS Awards Assembly 8:15 a.m.
Thursday, June 1st - Last Day of School - Noon dismissal 
* After the assembly 6th grade is going over to Lake Nyanza from 9:30-11:30 for games, playing, and lunch.  

Preparing to start the 2017 - 2018 School Year  
A reminder to schedule your student’s Sports Physicals for next school year.  Many of the physician’s offices are ready to schedule for this summer.  It is good to have them completed and your student will be ready for the first day of practice!

All students entering 7th grade in the 2017-2018 school year must have proof of having both the Meningococcal and the Tdap vaccines before school starts in August, unless the student has a Certificate of Immunization Exemption.  If you have had the opportunity to complete these immunizations, please bring in an updated copy of your child's immunization record or call Lisa Leris, RN at 641-236-2751.

Iowa state law requires that all 8th graders have a dental screening before entering 9th grade.  If you do not have dental insurance and need help setting up or covering this visit please contact Lisa Leris, RN and she would be happy to help you.  This dental screening form was sent home with 8th grade students in February.  If you do need a copy of the form the Middle School office and local dental offices will have the them available.  Please return your student’s completed form to one of our school nurses before your student enters 9th grade.

 

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Monday, May 22, 2017

Friday, May 19, 2017

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Monday, May 15, 2017

Friday, May 12, 2017

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

 

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

 

Monday, May 8, 2017

 

Friday, May 5, 2017

 

Thursday, May 4, 2017

 

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

 

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

 
 

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Monday, April 24, 2017

Friday, April 21, 2017

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Monday, April 17, 2017

 

Thursday, April 13, 2017

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

 
 
 
 

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Monday, April 3, 2017